Christian Service Learning

Christian Service Learning is a student centred program that provides students with a chance to develop the values of St Luke's College by seeking, truth, justice, compassion, dynamism and excellence through meaningful and active citizenship.

Christian Service Learning is a concrete way of putting into action the Gospel values espoused by St Luke's College, it enables students to explore many ways to serve others in the footsteps of the servant ministry of Jesus and to respond to others with love and care. It is anticipated that students will discover new talents and interests as they participate and by reflecting on their service gain a better appreciation of themselves, the people they serve and the issues they will confront.

There are four areas in which Service can be completed at St Luke's:

  • Social Justice
  • Community Outreach
  • Environment
  • Sporting

At St Luke's the hours of service, referred to as the Christian Service Learning Program, are to be completed over Years 8 to 12.

When completing the Christian Service Learning Program the following conditions must be satisfied:

  • All hours must be signed by an authorised supervisor who can also make a comment on the student's commitment, participation etc.
  • Students are required to complete a reflective journal
  • The College will also offer opportunities that will count as part of Service Learning which will be announced through the newsletter and daily bulletin
  • If students are unsure if certain activities will meet their Service Learning requirements they need to gain approval from Ms Sinead McArdle before continuing.
  • More details are available in each student's Service Learning journal

In Western Australian Catholic schools, participation in Christian service learning programs may contribute to the requirements for secondary graduation (Western Australian Certificate of Education) set by the Curriculum Council. The Catholic Education Office Curriculum Council endorsed program for Christian service learning will give students who complete the requirements in Year 10, 11 and 12 the equivalent of one unit towards their graduation.